9/17/16

Since it’s my first semester of grad school, the program does not allow us to take any other classes aside from our main ones. That means no ballet classes for 4 months! The ballet classes at the university gym offers ballet 1 and 2, but the classes meet only once a week for an hour and 15 minutes (not enough time for barre, stretch, and floor work) and take place during my class hours. It’s just not meant to be.

With my exercise form of choice not available this semester, my plan to go en pointe is kind of getting delayed. I’ve been taking up other classes at the gym with some of the people from my cohort. This week, we did zumba, yoga, and body flow (a combination of tai chi, pilates, and yoga). On top of that, I’ve been running a little bit more than a mile every other day. This is mainly to train for the 5K we’re planning on doing at the end of October, and it’s also a way for me to get warm enough to safely work on my stretches and extensions. I’ve been doing some ankle workouts, but those haven’t been as consistent as I’d like. I want to be able to do relevé in sur le coup de pied without the barre on both legs by the end of this semester.

Needless to say, I’ve spend a lot of time this week at the gym, and also on the walk to and from the gym. Rutgers is a huge school full of undergrads, and they pack the busses like sardines, so I’ve taken to walking to the gym from my apartment instead. It’s not close, but it’s not far either, and the walk is very pretty. Here are some of the pictures throughout this week:

Processed with VSCO with f1 presetProcessed with VSCO with a9 presetProcessed with VSCO with a9 preset

Hopefully I’ll still have time to work out once rotation starts. Then I get to walk until it gets too cold to walk, but I’m not really sure when that is. It’s going to be an interesting first winter in the East Coast.

Leave a Reply

